Soviet OOB for scenario

Got an interesting idea about a new scenario design? ...or maybe you just need some help with the Scenario Editor; this is the place!

Moderators: Run5 Staff, SSG Staff

Soviet OOB for scenario

Postby TreadHead » Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:34 am

Greetings! I've not posted here before so let me introduce myself: I've been wargaming on and off for 30 years, mostly WW2. I have the following from SSG: KP, BiI, and Kharkov. Being married with a family and lucky enough to be working full time, life is pretty full so I have precious little time for PBEM games - rather than let people down I just play against the AI - which is very good in Kharkov!

I am very impressed with Kharkov as an engine, the AO system is something that is imho crucial for doing accurate historical scenarios. As an IT type, the AI system looks good too and something I could enjoy doing for a scenario.

So I'm considering creating a scenario, since I'm reading about the Soviet operation Gallop (Jan-Feb 1943) at the moment I figured why not that. Coincidentally it occurred mostly over the same ground as the Kharkov scenario.

I want to be accurate as possible with OOBs. German OOBs are fairly easy to find out down to regimental level. However Soviet is a different thing entirely. So many references are happy to list the Divisions that were part of different armies and fronts, but the composition of these divisions is rare information. I'm sure I'm not telling anyone here anything new :)

Out of approx. 50 divisions I've got the composition of a dozen or so. Often these compositions are only accurate to within 6 months so I don't know how correct they are for the time of the scenario. I would rather not resort to naming regiments 266/1 ; 266/2 ; 266/3 etc