The Falklands War Senario.

Got an interesting idea about a new scenario design? ...or maybe you just need some help with the Scenario Editor; this is the place!

Moderators: AlexS, Run5 Staff, SSG Staff

The Falklands War Senario.

Postby Gen Alexandra » Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:01 am

Ok this is my first attempt at creating a senario from scratch.

I am working this as a bit of a "What If" Senario, which will include some of the more elite Argentinian Units which were, during the war tied up on the Chilean Border and protecting Airbases in the south.

Having completed my OoB for both Armys, I am now a little stuck on how to handle the "EXOCET" problem which the British faced during the campaign.

Anyone got a suggestion or two ???

Then I have to work on a 1km ? Map of the Falklands!!!!.
Gen Alexandra
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

Postby Mart » Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:41 am

Forgive me giving some form of answer, even though I don't yet own Battelfront! As you only live up the road from me, I thought I'd chip in.

The basic defence against the Exocet, in the Falklands campaign was, as I recall, two basic strategies. The first was to keep the main task force as far east of the Falklands as possible such that the Harriers could still function, whilst trying to keep beyond the fuel range of Argentine Mirages and Skyhawks. I think they were aware of the the danger of the Super-Etendard, but even then, to get close, it would be at the limit of it's range.