Losing game resolution

Discussion relating to Battles in Italy

Moderators: AlexS, Run5 Staff, SSG Staff

Losing game resolution

Postby flick » Fri Jul 18, 2014 6:40 am

Hi guys
Bear with me now, I'm no tech expert..

I recently bought a new laptop, and for a while the resolution ran at max (which is 1929x1080), but for some reason now, whenever I start this game or battle in normandy, the resolution drops to some level. Now maybe the game is meant to lose some resolution because 1929x1080 sounds very high for such an old game, but it seems even lower than 1280x1024. Whenever I go back to desktop though, I notice that the screen goes from this lower detail back to 1929x1080. Any ideas? I've tried the obvious ones.
Cheers.
flick
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 6:45 am

Re: Losing game resolution

Postby Roger Keating » Fri Jul 18, 2014 8:46 am

The game was designed to run in 1024 x 768 so modern computers will try to adopt that during the game. When playing Kharkov, BII or other the the war games this will occur. Any update of this system will take into account the new resolutions and features that we now expect but for the moment if you wish to play then accepting 1024 x 768 is a requirement.
User avatar
Roger Keating
SSG
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 3:32 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Losing game resolution

Postby flick » Sat Jul 19, 2014 8:00 am

It was just odd that when I reinstalled BII and BIN, the resolution was really high. Are you saying that a patch or update to the game/scenarios changed that?
flick
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 6:45 am

Re: Losing game resolution

Postby Roger Keating » Sat Jul 19, 2014 9:44 am

They should be the same. All those games had a 1024x768 resolution and modern computers cope with this in a number of ways which are not necessarily the best. I am looking to new programs which obviously ignore these problems but when the programs where programmed this was standard. They should have been updated but a few things in SSG intervened, the death of Ian being the major one.

I will promise, however, that if you enjoy this type of game then there will be upgrades as soon as it is possible.
User avatar
Roger Keating
SSG
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 3:32 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Losing game resolution

Postby Treale » Sat Jul 19, 2014 10:28 pm

I would just like to be able to run them without the screen flickering like crazy! Great games that I've enjoyed through the years, but with my newest computer? No Go!
Treale
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 12:32 am
Location: Central Florida

Re: Losing game resolution

Postby Roger Keating » Sun Jul 20, 2014 8:56 am

I agree and I am doing my best to address the problem. I live in hope.
User avatar
Roger Keating
SSG
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 3:32 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Losing game resolution

Postby Treale » Sun Jul 20, 2014 9:25 am

Roger Keating wrote:I agree and I am doing my best to address the problem. I live in hope.


Thanks Roger, I appreciate you trying!
Treale
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 12:32 am
Location: Central Florida

Re: Losing game resolution

Postby flick » Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:08 am

Yes, cheers for the info,
flick
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 6:45 am


Return to Battles in Italy Public Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron